Energy Education Star Award –

16 Marion schools honored

Marion County schools were able to end the year on a high note. Sixteen schools in the county had all reasons to be proud because they received the Energy Star award.

The schools listed below qualified for the award: Barnes Center (ALC), Barrackville Elementary/Middle, Blackshere Elementary, East Fairmont Junior High, East Park Elementary, Fairmont Senior High, Fairview Elementary, Fairview Middle, Jayenne Elementary, Mannington Middle, Monongah Elementary, Monongah Middle, North Marion High, Pleasant Valley Elementary, Rivesville Elementary/Middle and White Hall Elementary.

Monday evening the awards were presented to the schools by Mike Stalnaker and Blaine Duggan from Energy Star. The ceremony took place at the Marion County Board of Education meeting.

According to Superintendent Thomas Deadrick, the U.S. Department of Energy and the Environmental Protection Agency honor schools, which demonstrate their contribution to the environment through energy efficiency.

Even though this is a huge accomplishment, the board is unsure about participating in the Energy Education Inc. Program in 2011. Budget constraints may prohibit their participation for the following year, according to Deadrick. In order to be a part of the program the district has to pay fees.

“Every parent knows the Energy Star label, and now you’re going to have it in a permanent place in your school,” Duggan said.

Click here to view the original article.

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.